RICHNESS OF THE REGION ŚWIĘTOKRZYSKI REGION
Being at the treatment in "Słowacki Sanatorium" it is worth to learn something about the culture and history of the region and discover charming sights of Ponidzie.
We recommend trips to: Sandomierz, Wiślica, Chęciny, Szydłów, Tokarnia, Jaskinia Raj, Ujazd, św. Krzyż
PEARLS OF LESSER POLAND
We recommend trips to: Kraków, Bochnia, Ojców, Oświęcim, Wieliczka. The trips are arranged by travel agencies we cooparate with: DALL and TRAMP
Zdrojowy Park (0,0 km) - It is the heart of the spa town. It was created in the 19th century by the gardener Ignacy Hanusz and designed by an architect Henry Marconi. Among its landmarks there are: Sanatorium „Marconi”, so-called „Royal Baths” built in1836 r., the fountain, acoustical shell and somewhat hidden view lodge. Spa St Anna's Chapel is situated on the low elevation. It was built in 1888 and money came from spa guest's contributions. The Dream Alley is the central one of the Spa Garden and it leads from "Royal Baths" „Łazienek” to the gate and Kasztanowa Alley (Mickiewicz Alley) is an extension of this way and it ends in the urban park situated in the centre of Busko.
St Leonard's Church (1,8 km) – it is a wooden cementary temple built in 1699, in the plcae of the church that had stood there before. It is a log timber construction, one-isled with a narrower multisided closed presbytery, a small vestry at the northern side and a vestibule at the west. It has a shingle, double-pitched roof over the nave and presbytery. The walls are boarded. The rood beam with a fragmentary prserved and a crucifixion group. polychromy. On the upper floor of the presbytery there are some fragments of the late baroque polychromy. On the churchyard that is not active, there are preserved a few 19th century gravestones.
Skorocice Nature Reserve (8,0 km)– situated on the blue tourist track it is 7,7 hectares. Within it there is a clay canyon of the karstic subsoil. So-called Rock Bridge is a singularity of this terrain. It goes over the karstic foredeep and the cave. What it is more, there are natural habitats of the steppe plants (feathergrass- steppes and meadow-stepps) and entomofaunas.
Wiślica and its monuments (14,0 km) – Wiślica has existed since 9th century. According to a legend the name of the settlement comes from the name of its founder, the Duke of the Wiślans Wiślimir, who (with his community) decided to be baptized in 880. Around 990 the town became the Polans' posession. Wiślica became at that time, next to Cracow and Sandomierz one of the most administrative centres in Lesser Poland. On the turn of 10th and 11th century in Wiślica the first town church. At the beginning of 11th century Bolesław Chrobry erected the fortified town nearby the trading settlement, which was supposed to guard the crossing over the Nida. The trade route Prague-Cracow-Ruś Kijowska went through Wiślica. The Collegiate Basilica of the Birth of the Blessed Virgin Mary erected thanks to the king Kazimierz Wielki, is the oldest and the biggest two-nave church in Poland. In the main altar there is a statue of Our Lady (so-called Łokietkowa Madonna) dated around 1300. The vaults of the Basilica, where there are remains of the two previous romanesque churches dated 12th and 13th century and the unique Slab of Orants, dated 1175 is a great example of romanesque art. The Babtism Bowl – plaster-clay basin used for collective babtisms dated 880. Długosz house – vicariate from1460. The brick building founded by a famous chronicler John Długosz, which served as an appartement for vicars of the collegiate church in Wiślica. Inside there have been discovered fragments of the polychromy from 15th century. At present there are there a presbytery and museum.
The Wielopolski Palace in Pińczów (18,0 km) – it is a main object of the castle-palace complex. The building was erected at the foot of the Palace Mountain in style baroque-classicistic in the years 1773-1799 by X ordinate of Pińczów Ordination of Franciszek Wielopolskiego. It is assumed that it was designed by a famous architect of that era Jan Ferdynand Nax. It is a multi-storey building, erected on the projection of rectangle with a wing at the the northern corner. The face of the building divided by string courses is decorated by two stucco bas-reliefs representing mythology scenes, frontage by the coat of arms of the founder. Window frames are decorated with stucco consoles and flower garlandas. The interior of the palace was rebuilt in 19th century. In the southern part of the palace park there is a Late Renaissance garden pavilion since the late 16th century by Santi Gucci.
Regional Pinczow Aeroclub - Paragliding - It offers a flying the motor-glider. It is recommended to prior agree on the date. The season lasts from May to September. In aeroclub there is a possibility to attend training of paragliding which authorises to fly. www.arp.pinczow.com
Crossroads Garden (26,6 km) – it is a 3-level private garden in Świętokrzyskie voyvodoship, open to the public. On the 1 hr area there are over 2 thousands of plant species: trees, bushes, perennials, exotic plants and rare ones. The big attraction of this place are small ponds with a vast collection of nenufars, and a panorama of the garden may be watched from special viewing points. Another point of interest is numerous birds inter alia the black stork, still pretty rare white and colourful peakcocks and black and white swans and many species of ducks, geese, and pheasants. Open to public only on Saturdays, Sundays and holidays from the beginning of April till the end of October, from 9a.m. to 7p.m.
The European Tale Centre named after Koziołek Matołek in Pacanów (26,6km) – A visit in the European Tale is a real journey to the dreamland. It is an unusual place which inspires to read and cultivates positive values both among children and kids. Visitors of the European Tale Centre have an occasion to see a unique exhibition titled "Fairytale World" maintained in a character of an interactive game. Visiting this place both kids and adults find themselves in a dream fairy tale, full of colours and surprises. The European Tale Centre from the beginning of its activities was an organizer of numerous cultural events: festivals and competitions at country-wide scale.
Vintage Train Express of Ponidzie (42 km) – narrow-gauge railway, the former the Jędrzejow Commuter Rail was built in 1917. The track goes partially across the Ponidzie region on the south, from Jędrzejów through Jasionna, Motkowice, Umianowice to Pinczow. The departure takes place from the Jędrzejów Wąski station. The departure is in summer at 10:00 on every Sunday and arricval at 18:00. There are also special rides on request. The part that is being used at the moment by the Świętokrzyska Commuter Rail is 29,5 km long. The short distance is compensated by a unique and varied ride, picturesque views and numerous special places when it comes to their historical and natural and sightseeing aspects.
Open-air Museum Tokarnia – Ethnographic Park in Tokarnia (54,0 km) – Museum of the Kielce Village. Ethnographic Park in Tokarnia was set up in 1976, and has been active since 1977. It is a realization of scientific assumptions of an ethnographer and an expert of traditional folk culture, Prof. Roman Reinfuss. His aim was to reconstruct a typical settlement system of villages from different subregions of Kielce: The Swiętokrzyskie Mountains, Cracow-Częstochowa Highland, Sandomierska Highland, Nida Basin.
Ojców and the Ojcowski National Park (90km) – though they are small the tourists find them attractive. Exceptionally charming valley of Prądnik offers interesting architecture monuments (Castle Pieskowa Skała, Museum, Shrine on the Water and others) and extraordinary oraz niecodzienne natural monuments (Elbow-high's Grotto, Dark Grotto, Club of Hercules, Deotym's Needle and others).
Cracow (90km) - is one of oldest city in Poland with the over thousand-year history with man priceless architectural objects, unique atmosphere it is also known as an academic city. There are many cultural institutions gathering precious monuments. Among the main attractions there are: The Wawel Royal Castle, Wawel Cathedral, Old Market – inscribed on UNESCO since 1978 , the Main Market Square, Sukiennice (the Cloth Hall), St Mary's Church, St Anna's Collegiate Church, Collegium Maius of Jagiellonian University, Kazimierz district – also inscribed on UNESCO since 1978, Remuh Cementary, the Kościuszko Mound.
Sandomierz (95 km) - a city with a thousand year history, situated by the Vistula river and Sandomierska Upland. Sandomierz is a alive witness of history and culture of our country and nation. After Polish state was established Sandomierz with Cracow i Wroclaw – had a function sedes regni principales, so it was a main residance of the king. The urban-architecture-landscape complex of Sandomierza is a part of an enduring legacy both national and European culture. On the relatively small area of the Old Market there are over 120 monuments of all atyles and epochs.
JURAPARK and Pleasure Park in Bałtów (109 km)- Especially for you we have brought up the world from before millions years. Along the path going across the park there are over 100 models of dinosaurs and other prehistoric creatures, all life-size. Thanks to cooperation with paleo-artists and world-famous scientists we have created probably the most accurate reconstructions in the worlds. The path is full of information boards telling about the previous world. The Pleasure Park has been created to entertain whole families. You can find in here equipment for kids and adults (carousel, pirate ship, family coaster, water units, go-carts, eurobungs, dry pools with plastic balls and many more.